Don’t Wait Til New Years – Get Going Now

“It sure has been a long week…” – Me, on Tuesday.

Is it just me or does the classic mid-week slump seem to come earlier in the week this time of year? I blame Daylight Savings Time and slow, diminishing minutes of sun every day.

img_7452

See ya, wedding season. Holiday party season has begun.

I know I’m not alone; it’s typically hard to stay motivated this time of year – for everything, including workouts. But there’s no reason to let yourself slack, even with all the Friendsgivings, Christmas parties, and shopping distractions starting to hit. In fact, it’s even more crucial to make time for workouts to keep holiday stress under control.

More important than that is the impeding New Year’s Resolution madness is just six weeks away. Less than two months until the overcrowding of cardio machines, squat racks, and bikes in the cycling studio. You don’t really want to try to get things going again amidst all that shenanigans, do you?

If you’re like me and need a little added kick in the ass this time of year, I have five tips for making sure workouts don’t slide prior to the New Year’s rush – Daylight Savings Time and holidays be damned!

 
Get Fresh
Aside from fewer hours of daylight, workout boredom is a major threat to a workout routine this time of year. Fall race season is over and spring break is a long ways off, plus the busy holiday season approaching all seem to make it easy to put workouts on autopilot or forgo them completely. Now is the perfect time to freshen things up.

Many of you know I’m in the midst of a four-week break from running. While Saturday mornings have been the toughest adjustment, I have to say, overall I’m actually enjoying the switch up to my routine. I’ve been lifting more often and with more variety, I’ve tried out new classes, like SpinSanity, and am starting to gain some grace and control on the Stairmaster – emphasis on “some.”

So set a new goal. Try a new class. Brave the 5 a.m. crowd vs. your usual 5 p.m. workout time. Just change it up.

workoutbud

My buddy Trav – we don’t actually run together but we motivate each other via the wonderful world of social media.

Buddy Up
Speaking of trying new things, I know it can be intimidating to try anything new at the gym. Take that SpinSanity class I tried last week; I likely wouldn’t have tried it without my go-to workout pal, Heidi. And I sure as hell wouldn’t have jumped out of bed at 4:50 a.m. like a pop-tart had she not been waiting for me, counting on me to show up. We’ve already made a date for our next new class adventure.

The Workout Buddy System can’t be hyped enough as one of the best ways to stay motivated. And if you don’t have one at your gym, find one online. Seriously. You may not be able to gut through spin class together but can hold each other accountable to do what you said you would.

 
Schedule It
A dentist appointment. A meeting with your boss. Hump day happy hour. What do these all have in common? They’re scheduled engagements that you likely don’t decide to skip last-minute. Why should a workout be any different?

I’m a huge fan of scheduling workouts early in the week. This is good for accountability, plus it gives you a plan of action.

 
Eat Well
Yum, food. I love it. And this time of year there are a lot more opportunities for sweets, treats, and overindulgence in general. That’s why now it’s more important than ever to practice planned eating and moderation.

img_7376

Tis the season of sweets & treats everywhere.

I admit, this one is toughest for me. But I know that when I eat like crap, I feel sluggish and am actually less motivated to work out – you’d think poor eating would make me feel motivated and energized to hit the gym but it’s not the case at all. Keep the focus on food is fuel, with the best stuff going in to produce best results in the gym. And, if you do overdo it, get over it and move on. No burpees required.

 
Mind Control
Not like, Jedi mind control here, I’m talking about simple mindfulness and mindset tactics.

Remember, just because it feels like 9:00 when you leave work at 5:15 p.m. doesn’t mean it actually is. I know it seems like the middle of the night when the alarm goes off at 5 a.m. but it’s not. There are still 24 hours in every day and the same 24 hours exist whether it’s June or November. Use them the same as you would. And, you can never remind yourself enough how much better your mood improves when you work out vs. slip into sweats and become the couch commando for an extra hour or two every night.

 
What tips do you have for staying motivated this time of year? Do you tend to ease up or try to work harder in prep for the New Years Resolution madness? Comment below or tweet me @runlikeagirl311.

This entry was posted in Life Outside of Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Wait Til New Years – Get Going Now

  1. Mariah Jo says:

    Great tips! I definitely need to add some change into my workouts as I’m getting slightly bored with them. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

