Dick Beardsley Marathon – Race Highlights

“Take the lake”

I don’t write reviews or recaps of every race I run. First, that would get obnoxious for readers. Second, while every race is meaningful to me, I don’t always have noteworthy experiences to share for the good of the group.

But yesterday I ran the Dick Beardsley Marathon for the fourth year in a row, and had some experiences I wanted to share. Some funny, some gross, others sad yet heartwarming.

img_7246

Contrary to popular belief, holding this sign isn’t exhausting.

The Sign
Yet again another great experience pacing a half marathon. I led the 2:10 group with a steady pace and lots of encouragement, hopefully helping out a runner or two in their quest to finish.

I also had four instances of people commenting on me holding my pace sign. This isn’t super unusual; there’s always at least one person at every race who asks if it’s hard holding the sign for the whole race. But I found it kind of funny that it came up so many times at this race. Maybe I look weak and I should take a hint to work on my form or upper body strength…?
Two Races
For the second year in a row, I chose to run the Beardsley Duo – two races for the day. First, pacing the half marathon, which was fun and great. Second, later that morning, after a partial change of clothes and re-lacing of my sneaks, I lined up at the start line again, this time to run the 5k.

Right off the bat, my legs felt heavy and my glutes really tight from the hilly half marathon course I’d run a few hours earlier. I knew I wouldn’t be getting a PR but I still wanted to run my best. I did and finished in 23:20ish (my official results weren’t available, as there was a problem with my registration and I didn’t get an official bib attached to my name) so if nothing else, good speed work for my next pacing venture – the 1:20 group, 8 min/mile pace, at the upcoming Twin Cities 10-miler on Oct 9.
Running for Jacob, A Race for Andy
While it has made national news, no one is the country is as close to the Jacob Wetterling story as people in Minnesota. For those who don’t know, Jacob was a boy, kidnapped in 1989 near his home in St. Joseph MN. I grew up seeing his face, hearing his story, and never knowing what really happened to Jacob. Recently, his killer was finally found, as were Jacob’s remains.

14333026_1202557803150362_4852954488406112405_n

Sporting #11 for Jacob, lined up to run the 5k for Andy.

Jacob wore #11 in sports and his family encouraged all athletes to wear #11 in honor of Jacob. Naturally, I participated by marking #11 on both of my arms. What was really great was the Dick Beardsley race organization participated, too. All runners received #11 stickers in their packets to wear. And Mile #11 was dedicated to Jacob.

As for the 5k, it was a special one this year. Last October, Dick Beardsley lost his son, Andy, a veteran who served our country. This year’s 5k was officially named the Andy Beardsley Memorial 5k, and we all wore special bibs to honor his memory. Not only did I think of Jacob out there on the course, I thought of Andy too.
There were plenty more great moments from Saturday.
A beautiful course and sunny, yet cool fall weather.
My friend, Dakota, ran one of her best half marathons to date.
The loudest burp I’ve ever heard by a guy at mile 25 who responded to my laughter and thumbs up by saying, “I had to let that happen so I wouldn’t vomit at the finish line.”
Seeing my old/new friend, GP Pearlberg, race announcer and running coach
My parents came out to cheerlead and take photos.
A little girl ran onto the 5k course at mile 2 to hug and high-five her runner mom.
And I soaked up a great day of running around the lake, one of my favorite events of the year.
Did you run the Dick Beardsley Marathon or any other local race this weekend? Tell me your highlights in the comments. Or, tweet me your humble brag or race day photo and I’ll retweet! Find me @runlikeagirl311 on Twitter & Instagram.

As always, if you like this post, please share it on Facebook or Twitter.

This entry was posted in All About Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

