Essential Stretches for Runners

“Keep Calm and Stretch On”

For my Fargo-area peeps, this is the week you’ve been waiting for – it’s Fargo Marathon week! I’m so excited; this is one of my favorite weeks of the year and has been for the past 10 years I’ve been running.

IMG_5982

Stretching does the body – and mind – good.

Last week, I gave some pre-race tips and, in the spirit of Fargo Marathon just days away, shall do the same this week. Being that the days leading up to a race should focus on giving your body a break and staying mentally fit, this week, it’s all about one of my favorite topics: stretching.

I’ve shared my love of stretching on this blog many times and now I have a chance to again via one of my favorite past entries. Because stretching is so important, I invite you to read my 5 Essential Stretches for Runners. And, most importantly, take the time this week to stretch. I mean it; no more excuse of, “I don’t have time to stretch.” Make time! Most runners are tapering so I promise 5-10 minutes of post-cardio stretching is something you have time to do. And, mentally, stretching is so good for you too – crucial for the week before a big race.

Okay, I think I made my point so onto bigger things: Good luck to all Fargo Marathon runners! I’ll be out there Friday night as a wheelchair runner for Ainsley’s Angels, and again Saturday in a bright blue top and holding my big ole 2:05 pacer sign. So if you see me, say (actually, yell) hi. Better yet, come run with me!

Do you have questions about stretching or just pre-race week in general? Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment or tweet me @runlikeagirl311 on Twitter.

As always, if you like this post and think other runners would too, please share it on Facebook or Twitter.

This entry was posted in All About Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

