Suck It Up and Keep Going

“My talent is that I just don’t quit.”

Credit to @momma_to_4_in_a_row for sharing this quote on Instagram. After yesterday’s workout, it was a perfect fit for today’s reflection.

Saturday is always long run day for me and yesterday I had 14.1 miles on the schedule. I was looking forward to it; I had a great 13 mile run the previous week and everything has been going well this training season.IMG_4091

Then a wrench in the plan: the weather forecast was -8 degrees F with light wind. Well, damn.

I have a personal rule that it has to be at least 0 degrees for me to run outside. After years of running outside, I’ve learned that’s the point where outdoor running becomes more uncomfortable than it’s worth. My eyelashes stick together, hair freezes to my neck warmer, water and gel consistencies become questionable, those types of things. So, as much as I wasn’t excited about it, I decided to take my long indoor – all 14.1 miles of it. Boo

It’s not that I hate the treadmill; I actually enjoy many treadmill runs. But long runs? Those can be torturous on the mill. I pay too much attention to the mileage. I break up the run into numerous “checkpoints” that I have to reach. Instead of letting my thoughts just go, I’m thinking about how many more songs I have until I reach the next checkpoint. I get to the point of not enjoying the run. And then it’s way too easy to throw in the towel early and write it off as a bad run when it otherwise wouldn’t have to be.

So as I was heading to the gym, a little devil/angel on the shoulder conversation started and went a little something like this:

Devil: It’s okay if you cut your run short today.
It’s a treadmill run and, let’s face it, long runs suck on the treadmill.
What’s the big deal if you slack off one week?
Even if you can just get to 10 miles, that’s still good.
You can do 15 next weekend and get back on track.
It won’t throw off your schedule that much.

Angel: 14.1 miles is 14.1 miles, whether outside or on the treadmill.
Your body is capable of running the mileage.
Sticking to your training schedule is important.
Suck it up and do what you set out to get done.
Just don’t quit.

That voice won. By dividing the run between two different treadmills and further breaking it up with a couple miles here and there on the track, I hit my 14.1 and felt great.

Some days, I run with no thoughts of quitting. Some days, I even have to limit myself to not exceed my scheduled mileage. Some days, I feel like running comes natural to me, as if I have a talent, that it’s something I was born to do.

Other days, all I can do is just not quit.

How many of you can relate? Are there days you just want to throw in the towel but you somehow keep going? Comment below or tweet me @runlikeagirl311.

This entry was posted in All About Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

