12 Days Of Christmas – Meet 12 Days of Fitmas

“Maybe Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more”

From my favorite Christmas movie, “Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas” – a perfect start to a Christmas-themed blog!

Ugly-Sweater

Attempting to be jolly at an Ugly Christmas Sweater party.

Today marks only 12 Days til Christmas. Confession: I’m really not a huge fan of the Christmas season. Working retail throughout much of my teens and early 20s sort of soured me on the holiday spirit – it was more like “mad-dash-to-get-unimportant-stuff” and “don’t-care-how-rude-I-am-to-get-what-I-want” sort of spirit.

As I’ve gotten older and put my retail days behind me, I’ve been working on my positivity towards the holiday season. Being less of a Grinch; trying to get my heart to grow a little bigger and eyes to turn a little bluer.

Another confession: I also despise Christmas music. Again, I blame retail. Having to listen to it from 12:01 a.m. on Nov 1 all the way thru store closing on Dec 24, every day I worked, the entire time I worked – OMG. I mean, I love the Beatles, and even I no longer wanted to hear Sir Paul McCartney sing about simply having a wonderful Christmas time.

So in typical Lindsay fashion, I’ve reworked the 12 Days of Christmas and dreaded song to something more appropriate – presenting the 12 Days of Fitmas!

(As you read each, please feel free to sing in your head, starting off with, “On the X day of Fitmas my fitself gave to me…”)

Dec 13 – The First Day of Fitmas
1 Scoop of Protein Powder

For recovery and growth, or for cooking and baking – I love my protein powder. One scoop goes a long way and is crucial to my fit life.

Dogs-Sports-Fans

These two. Love em.

Dec 14 – The Second Day of Fitmas
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Burton and Blitz – my furry and favorite running buddies.

Dec 15 – The Third Day of Fitmas
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Sippers, lifting shoes, running shoes – any one or combo of two can usually be found in my gym bag.

Dec 16 – The Fourth Day of Fitmas
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Long run. Tempo Run. Lindsay Intervals. Incline Intervals – I love mixing up my running workouts. Four is just enough variety for a full week of running.

Dec 17 – The Fifth Day of Fitmas
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Only 5? I have to pick only 5? Okay if I must! Standard back, dumbbell front, sumo, single-leg, jump.

You’ll notice I gave squats the best spot in the song: The “Five Golden Rings” spot. I love squats so much, I had to give them that extra fanfare. If you sing no other part while reading this, at least sing, “FIVE TYPES OF SQUATS” aloud or to yourself.

Dec 18 – The Sixth Day of Fitmas
6 Heavy Reps
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Six reps is my goal when I’m trying for a heavier weight. Sometimes I only get four, sometimes I can push it to eight (and then I know I’m having an amazing day or I’ve been slacking) – but six is always the benchmark I give myself when moving up.

Dec 19 – The Seventh Day of Fitmas
7 Comfy Sports Bras
6 Heavy Reps
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Life’s too short for uncomfortable bras. I have a good variety for long runs, shorter runs, other cardio, and lifting.

Dec 20 – The Eighth Day of Fitmas
8 Perfect Playlists
7 Comfy Sports Bras
6 Heavy Reps
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

You can never have enough great playlists. For every type of exercise and mood. Probably good to have one for every day of the week, plus an extra.

Dec 21 – The Ninth Day of Fitmas
9 Open Treadmills
8 Perfect Playlists
7 Comfy Sports Bras
6 Heavy Reps
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

When you really want to run, there’s no better sight than a gym full of open treadmills. The week before Christmas is probably the only time you’ll see this many. For a long, long time. Take advantage!

Quest-Protein-Bar

Even when I travel, always stocked with protein!

Dec 22 – The Tenth Day of Fitmas
10 Kinds of Protein Bars
9 Open Treadmills
8 Perfect Playlists
7 Comfy Sports Bras
6 Heavy Reps
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

Because when you eat them every day, it’s good to have options. First brands: Quest, Luna, Pure Protein among my faves. Then flavors: chocolate chunk, apple pie, peanut butter, cookie dough – oh I could go on. It’s like getting me started talking about different kinds of squats…be prepared for a long convo.

Dec 23 – The Eleventh Day of Fitmas
11 Yoga Poses
10 Kinds of Protein Bars
9 Open Treadmills
8 Perfect Playlists
7 Comfy Sports Bras
6 Heavy Reps – Dec 18
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

I’m not a yoga expert. I’m a stretching expert. As such, I estimate there are fewer than a dozen yoga poses I actually know, do regularly and do well.

Dec 24 – The Twelfth Day of Fitmas
12 Minutes on the Stairmaster
11 Yoga Poses
10 Kinds of Protein Bars
9 Open Treadmills
8 Perfect Playlists
7 Comfy Sports Bras
6 Heavy Reps – Dec 18
5 TYPES OF SQUATS
4 Running Workouts
3 Pair of Shoes
2 Running Buddies
And I Scoop of Protein Powder

The toughest cardio for me by far is the Stairmaster. I always try to get at least 15-20 minutes – but after 12, I’m typically wiped.

And on December 25, have a Merry Christmas! To my Jewish, Atheist and other non-Christian friends, have a happy holiday season and New Year! I hope everyone’s is filled with rest and relaxation, family and food, and, if you’re really lucky, lots of white fluffy snow.

As always, please share your thoughts on this blog, ideas for future blogs, guest blog requests or general thoughts here in the comments.

If you like this blog, please share it on Facebook or Twitter. Tweet or connect with me on Twitter too: @runlikeagirl311.

This entry was posted in Life Outside of Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 12 Days Of Christmas – Meet 12 Days of Fitmas

  1. Pingback: It’s Back – the 12 Days of Fitmas | Run Like A Girl

Leave a Reply

