Thank Goodness It’s Monday

“Sounds like somebody’s got a case of the Mondays” 

What do you mean it's already Monday?

What do you mean it’s already Monday?

Poor Monday. It gets such a bad rap. Countless memes bash Mondays. Susanna Hoffs dreams of Sunday never ending in the Bangles’ song “Manic Monday”. And who hasn’t heard the famous quote above from the classic movie, Office Space?

For some, the horror that is Monday is so great, it even spills into Sunday. The so-called “Sunday Blues” set in for many as early as Sunday morning, where anxiety and dread of the upcoming week becomes consuming. What a shame, Sundays are the best! Relaxed mornings, long workouts, football, the chance to get organized and prep healthy food for the week…sorry, back to the upside of Mondays.

Me, I like Mondays, both at work and in the gym. I’m a creature of habit and enjoy getting back to routine after the weekend.. Don’t get me wrong; I love the chance to relax on weekends. It’s absolutely imperative to get a break from the grind and routine of weekday life. But there’s something comforting about getting back on a schedule.

In my work world, I always seem to have calm, productive Mondays. Everyone’s getting back into the swing after the weekend. Emails and new project requests are pretty minimal, as most are focused on catching up on their own to-do lists. Mondays are a great chance to start fresh and kick off a new week.

I also love starting off the week with a great Monday workout. I usually get in my toughest run on Mondays. I’m mentally fresh coming off the weekend and psyched to push hard. And I know nothing feels better than knocking out a solid run early in the week. Plus, I tend to get a little fatigued as the week goes on so this is my best opportunity to crush some speedwork. For me, it’s the best way to start the week.

Make your Monday awesome.

Make your Monday awesome.

On the flip side, Monday can be the perfect rest day. If you take advantage of quieter weekends at the gym and put in two long, hard workouts, enjoy a rest day on Monday. Or #TreatYoSelf to a splash of yummy flavor in your coffee or something special for breakfast every Monday morning.

My point is, there’s no reason Mondays have to suck. If you struggle with Mondays, just try changing your perspective on them. Attitude and outlook are everything. So find some positivity. Draw something good out of Monday. Put in some effort to make them awesome! Never have a “case of the Mondays” again.

If all else fails, there’s always Monday Night Football to look forward to.

How do you feel about Mondays? Comment or tweet me @runlikeagirl311. Or, share some positivity and help others get through the day using hashtag #MondayMotivation.

This entry was posted in Life Outside of Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank Goodness It’s Monday

  1. My Mondays are actually Tuesdays, and I dread them so…lol…it usually involves way too much time in appointments with people I don’t particularly like or trust, just marking time, thinking, “eventually, something useful will come out of this”…but I love your ideas on combating Mondays, whatever day of the week they may occur!

Leave a Reply

