Why Dogs Are Good For Your Health – And Just Awesome

“Dogs are not our whole life but they make our lives whole”

Most people know I enjoy running with my dog, Burton. In the past few months, I’ve also adopted another occasional running buddy, Blitz. Yep, another dog.

It’s true, I love dogs. They’re wonderful, sweet creatures and bring so much positivity into life. Plus, they’re good for your health too. I’m not making this up! There’s oodles of research out there that proves owning a dog provides a ton of health benefits, mental and physical.

I was thinking about this on my run today – well, on both my runs today. Allow me to explain. Burton and Blitz are what I’d call, highly energetic dogs. They’re also both really strong and fast so I sadly can’t take them running together. Instead, I often go for two runs, one with each dog.

But anyway, back to my runs. They ended up being pretty great! Nice, chilly morning, legs felt good and the miles went by really fast. Something about splitting a typical 6-miler into two 3-milers made it seem shorter. But the best part of running today was that I almost didn’t.

You're not just going to sit there all day, are you?

You’re not just going to sit there, are you?

See, I was having one of those mornings where I just didn’t really feel like running. We’ve all been there, right? For me, I was home alone (for those who aren’t familiar with the North Dakota/Minnesota area, this weekend marked the opener of deer hunting season) so I got caught up enjoying coffee and some DVR, then started feeling guilty for being a bum so I decided to do some cleaning, then before I knew it the morning was nearly gone and I hadn’t made it out the door to run yet. It would have been really easy to blow it off in favor of a million other things I wanted to get done today but, luckily for me, B&B weren’t having it. Both were being their usual, energetic selves, and kept looking at me as if to say, “Aren’t we going running today?” I knew they needed to burn some energy and, deep down, I knew I’d be happier and feel better if I went running. So I layered up, laced up and headed out, first with Burton, then with Blitz. It was great.

That’s the thing about dogs. They don’t let you slack off. They remind you that running is fun, it’s freeing and it really is the best part of your day. The same rules apply to walking. I’ve had tons of bonus cardio moments just taking each dog for a walk. Dogs remind you to get up and get moving – they’re kind of like personal trainers. Other than the fact they nap excessively and are willing to eat just about anything.

Fellow dog lovers, has your furry friend helped keep you in shape? Comment or tweet me @runlikeagirl311.

This entry was posted in All About Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why Dogs Are Good For Your Health – And Just Awesome

  1. Reblogged this on Princess Chaos, Oma, and 2 Crazy Dogs! and commented:
    Shortly after my “accident” I was on a walker for eight months. I knew the only way I would ever be able to endure walking or anything again, would be to get up, fall down, and keep on going. My dogs, Buzzy & Uboo made sure I didn’t take one second feeling sorry for myself. Love those doggies!

    • lindsaybabb says:

      Thanks for sharing your story! Dogs act like mini, non-verbal therapists in a lot of ways. I’m glad yours were there for you during a tough time!

  2. Hello, Ms. Lindsay. Your dogs are very handsome. I’m glad that they have found it possible to run with you.
    I definitely keep my People in shape. Living in New York, they have to walk a lot anyways, but I make them walk longer, more often, and even when the weather is bad.
    I have tried running with them, but humans seem to have this illogical need to run in a straight line without stopping. Don’t they understand that I need to stop and pee on every fire hydrant, garbage bag, sign post, and piece of litter we go by? I also need to stop to bark at skateboarders, or sometimes just to sniff something interesting. If Mr. Burton and Mr. Blitz have any tips on how I can teach my People to run properly, I sure would appreciate it.
    Yours kindly,
    Albert the Dog

    • lindsaybabb says:

      Love this comment! Sounds like Mr. Burton and Ms. Blitz have very similar running styles to yours. I tend to ruin a lot of their fun, as they try to pee on everything and play with every dog that crosses our path. But they have trained me to let them slow down to sniff things every once in awhile so just keep at it with your Humans and I bet they’ll start to come around to your ways of running…a little bit. Happy running, Albert!

  3. My dog walks me every morning😊

  4. Pingback: Make That Morning Workout Happen | Run Like A Girl

Leave a Reply

