Confessions Of A Gym Snob

“Hi, my name is Lindsay and I’m a gym snob.”

They say the first step is admitting you have a problem, right? Well, as much as I hate to admit it, I’m kind of a gym snob.

Maybe it’s from working at a gym in my earlier years. Part of it is that I take working out too seriously. Or perhaps it’s that I’ve become so regimented in my workouts, seemingly small things distract me big time. Whatever the reason, these little annoyances have gotten large enough, they’ve taken on their own personalities – so much in fact, I named them. I now present to you the five most annoying people at the gym. This is my confession of a gym snob.

The Jingler's secret weapon

The Jingler’s secret weapon

1. The Jingler
My gym is wonderful in that anyone can use a locker, free of charge. Just take the key, which is conveniently located on a nifty little bracelet. The problem? Wearing said key bracelet while you lift or do cardio – the persistent jingling that goes along with it drives me batty! Please, just set it on your machine or wrap it around your water bottle and put it next to you as you lift.

2. The Chatterbox
Whether it’s on their phone or to other people, the person who talks excessively at the gym is a distraction to me and other gym-goers – but also him or herself. The gym is YOUR time. Skip the phone and endless chatter, and focus on YOU. Now, that’s not to say you shouldn’t forgo all social interaction at the gym. Relationships create a nice sense of community, the type of positive, friendly environment that keeps people coming back to the gym week after week. Larry David may not have been a fan of the stop-and-chat but a quick one pre- or post-workout is totally fine with me.

3. The TV Star
Typically the ladies are the offenders here. The ones who show up to the gym in full makeup, hair perfectly styled, clothing less supportive than Richie Incognito is of his teammates. This person looks like they’re camera-ready, not gym ready. Really, this person’s behavior doesn’t affect me, except that I get peeved when people don’t take their workouts even a little bit seriously. Come prepared to break a sweat and do it! Otherwise, you’re just taking up a machine that someone else could be using.

4. The Dropper
Yes, I picked on the ladies. Now it’s the guys’ turn. Purposely dropping or even throwing your weights – c’mon man! What’s up with that? There’s absolutely no reason for it. Either you want people to look your way because they need to see how jacked and tan you are, or you’re just being a jackass and disrespectful of the equipment. Neither of which is cool or courteous gym behavior.
5. The Hogger
And now, it’s time for me to fess up. As much as I’m a gym snob, I too am one of “those people”. I, Lindsay Babb, am The Hogger. 30 minute limit on cardio machines? Please look the other way as I run for an hour on a treadmill. Crowded weight room? I may or may not have been camped out on the same bench for 30 minutes of my lift.

What can I say? I legitimately enjoy the gym and I want to get a solid sweat on while I’m there. If that means I commit the offense of The Hogger occasionally, put me away for 15 to life – I’m guilty.

My point in all this is not to pick on anyone or gripe about fellow gym-goers. It’s to remind us all that we’re all human. People are going to annoy us, we’re going to annoy them right back. Not one of us is perfect and we’re going to commit some offenses from time to time. As long as we can own up to it, laugh about it and promise not to do it ALL the time, I think we deserve a little slack.

What are your pet peeves and people at the gym? Are you an admitted offender like me? Comment or tweet me @runlikeagirl311!

This entry was posted in Life Outside of Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confessions Of A Gym Snob

  1. Kristin says:

    Hey!!! Cute post!! You rock!! I love that you take your workouts seriously!!
    I always seem to be next to the guy that keeps slamming weights down. It drives me crazy because there are countless signs that say not to do that. I take my weight workouts very seriously and I seem to always be followed around by guys! I do not wear my ring to the gym because it’s uncomfortable when lifting but I’m considering getting a ring tattoo. Hehe!!
    Hope you’re having a great weekend!! XOXO!!!

    • lindsaybabb says:

      Ha ha the guys are prob trying to take tips from you! Thanks for the sweet comments 🙂 I read your blog last night, great brick workout PLUS a killer lift – you’re awesome. Love reading your posts, so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

